Picketwire Players Accepting Letters of Intent for Board of Directors

getinvolved1The Picketwire Players are currently accepting letters of intent for anyone interested in serving on its Board of Directors.

Four current board members’ terms are expiring at the end of 2014. Current board members do have the option of submitting letters of intent to remain on the board and their names will appear on the ballot.

The board consists of 12 community members and they meet the first Sunday of every month. The board is responsible for approving upcoming productions, handling day-to-day operations of the building, being the PR group for the organization and any other general business that directly affects Picketwire.

Individual board member duties include assisting with productions as needed (box office, ushers, etc.) and outside appearance as needed, as well as helping with upkeep of the building and property. One board member must also serve as production manager for each production.

A board member may be asked to serve on two or more of the standing executive committees. Those committees are: Box Office, Gala, Patron/Hospitality, Production, Grants, Finance, Inventory, Public Relations/Civic, Financial and Building & Grounds. Community members can also serve on any of these executive committees.

Anyone interested in serving on the board should write a letter to include their interest in being a board member and their involvement with the Picketwire Players. Interested people should include any information that they feel would qualify them as a potential board member. The letter should be addressed to the Picketwire Players Nominating Committee. Letters can also be submitted via e-mail to gelliott@debourgh.com, who is the chairperson of the nominating committee or by dropping off letters at the Picketwire Center for Performing and Visual Arts at 802 San Juan Ave. or the La Junta Tribune-Democrat.

All qualified names will appear on the ballot. (Only vote for 4 members). The nominating committee, consisting of Elliott, Cameron Salzbrenner and Candi Hill will review each letter prior to the Annual Meeting and Mickie Awards on Jan. 24, 2015 to review qualifications. The ballot for the Board of Directors will be presented to all active Picketwire Players (patrons & members participating in a production within the past three years) via mail prior to the Annual Meeting with the ballot for the Mickie Awards. A brief list of board nominee’s qualifications will be included on the ballot to help members in their decision.  We have found that soliciting ballots by mail is much more effective than an in-person vote.  NO nominations will be accepted from the floor at the meeting. The deadline to submit a letter is Saturday, Dec. 27, 2014. For more information, contact Elliott at (719) 384-9125 or call the Picketwire Center and leave a message and you will be called back so your questions can be answered.